greensboro city council candidates 2021

LATOYA BERNICE GATHERS: There are not enough affordable housing options in my neighborhood. Ultimately, this motion did not pass through City Council. I am a small business owner and executive director for Triad Local First, a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting locally-owned independentbusinesses. WGHP attempted to ask five uniform questions of every candidate on the ballot. Chief [Brian] James was a tremendous asset to this city, and we need to provide the new chief with the tools and funds to help improve and maintain public safety. MAYORAL CANDIDATE ERIC ROBERT ANNOUNCES HE HAS UNCOVERED DOCUMENTS SUPPORTING ALLEGATIONS OF MALFEASANCE AND POTENTIAL CIVIL CONSPIRACY ON THE PART OF CURRENT GREENSBORO MAYOR NANCY VAUGHAN, COLISEUM DIRECTOR MATT BROWN AND CITY ATTORNEY CHUCK WATTS. I do have to ask one question: How has Kennedy stayed out of federal prison? We were unable, because of legal reasons, to share with the public what was going on between the city and his family. Every current council member is part of the sham. Ten candidates filed to run in the at-large City Council race, including the three incumbents: City Councilmembers Yvonne Johnson, Marikay Abuzuaiter and Hugh Holston. We have other pressing issues, homelessness, crime, police policy are just three that also need immediate attention. After attending City Academy in 2017 I knew that I could bring new ideas and the drive to move our city forward. I bring a network of relationships in many areas with me and continue to build that network out in order to better understand issues that face people in District 2, and ways we can address them from City Council. Specifically, in District 2, those undeveloped and overlooked neighborhoods are predominantly low-income and communities of color, specifically Black and Latino. Matheny and current Mayor Nancy Vaughan devised the plan to finance the Tanger Center for the Performing Arts using parking and ticket fe